Planning Committee

Thursday 16 January 2020

PRESENT:

Councillor Stevens, in the Chair.

Councillor Tuohy, Vice Chair.

Councillors Allen, Mrs Bridgeman, Michael Leaves (substitute for Councillor Loveridge), Morris (substitute for Councillor Derrick), Nicholson, Mrs Pengelly, Rebecca Smith, Tuffin (substitute for Councillor McDonald), Vincent, Ms Watkin and Winter.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Derrick, Loveridge and McDonald.

Also in attendance: Peter Ford (Head of Development Management), Julie Parkin (Senior Lawyer), Paul Barnard MBE (Service Director for Strategic Planning and Infrastructure), Josephine Maddick (Planning Compliance Officer), Katherine Graham (Planning Officer), Ben Wilcox (Planning Officer), John Salvatore (Historic Environment Officer), Matthew Coombe (Urban Designer), Scott Smy (Transport Development Co-ordinator), Jonathan Selman (Low Carbon City Officer), Joe McCarthy (Development Viability Officer), Liz Dunster (Housing Delivery Officer), Becky Curtis (Environmental Health Officer), Jamie Sheldon (Democratic Advisor) and Amelia Boulter (Democratic Advisor).

The meeting started at 4.00 pm and finished at 6.27 pm.

Note: At a future meeting, the committee will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

79. **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest made.

80. Minutes

Agreed the minutes of the meeting held on 5 December 2019.

81. Chair's Urgent Business

There were no items of Chair's urgent business.

82. Questions from Members of the Public

There were no questions from members of the public.

83. Planning Applications for consideration

The Committee considered the following applications, development proposals by local authorities and statutory consultations submitted under the Town and Country Planning Act, 1990, and the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservations Areas) Act, 1990.

84. **14 West Hill Road - 19/01457/S73**

Mr Ben Elliot

Decision:

Application DEFERRED to allow officers to negotiate amendments with the applicant that help to address certain concerns raised put forward by Councillor Nicholson and seconded by Councillor Michael Leaves.

(The Committee heard from Councillor Murphy, Ward Councillor).

(The Committee heard from Mr Ben Elliot, applicant).

(A site visit was held on 15 January 2020 in respect of this item).

85. Civic Centre - 19/00439/FUL

Mr Phillip Yunnie

Decision:

Grant Conditionally subject to \$106 planning obligation with delegated authority to Service Director for Strategic Planning and Infrastructure to refuse if not signed within agreed timeframes.

(The Committee heard from Mr Adam Willets, in support of this application).

(A site visit was held on 15 January 2019 in respect of this item).

(Councillors Michael Leaves, Nicholson, Mrs Pengelly and Ms Watkin left partway through this item and did not vote on this application).

86. **Civic Centre - 19/00440/LBC**

Mr Phillip Yunnie Decision: Granted conditionally.

(Councillors Michael Leaves, Nicholson, Mrs Pengelly and Ms Watkin left partway through this item and did not vote on this application).

87. Planning Enforcement

Members noted the Planning Enforcement Report.

88. Planning Application Decisions Issued

The Committee noted the report from the Service Director for Strategic Planning and Infrastructure on decisions issued since the last meeting.

89. **Appeal Decisions**

The Committee noted the schedule of appeal decisions made by the Planning Inspectorate.

VOTING SCHEDULE 16 JANUARY 2020 (Pages 5 - 6)

This page is intentionally left blank

PLANNING COMMITTEE – 16 January 2020

SCHEDULE OF VOTING

Minute number and Application		Voting for	Voting against	Abstained	Absent due to interest declared	Absent
6.1	14 West Hill Road, Plymouth, PL4 7LE – 19/01457/S73 Voting to defer the item.	Councillors Stevens, Tuohy, Mrs Bridgeman, Michael Leaves, Nicholson, Mrs Pengelly, Rebecca Smith, Tuffin, Vincent and Ms Watkin.	Councillors Allen, Morris and Winter.			
6.2	Civic Centre, Armada Way, Plymouth, PLI 2AA – 19/00439/FUL	Councillors Stevens, Tuohy, Allen, Mrs Bridgeman, Morris, Rebecca Smith, Tuffin, Vincent and Winter.				Councillors Michael Leaves Nicholson, Mrs Pengelly and Ms Watkin.
6.3	Civic Centre, Armada Way, Plymouth, PLI 2AA – 19/00440/LBC	Councillors Stevens, Tuohy, Allen, Mrs Bridgeman, Morris, Rebecca Smith, Tuffin and Vincent.	Councillor Winter			Councillors Michael Leaves Nicholson, Mrs Pengelly and Ms Watkin.

This page is intentionally left blank